Delaware Election Guide

Election 2022 Information for Laurel, DE

Voter Registration

Registration Deadline: Anytime except after the fourth Saturday before a Primary or General Election through the day of the election. You must register at least 10 days before a Special Election.


Party Affiliation: Delaware has closed primaries, meaning only those voters registered for a certain party may vote in that party's primary. For a primary election, party affiliation can be changed anytime except from the last Saturday in May through the date of the Primary. For presidential primaries, party affiliation can be changed anytime except from the 59th day before the Presidential Primary through the date of the election.


Voter Registration Qualifications

Age: Must be 18 years of age by the date of the next General Election

Citizenship: Must be a United States citizen

Residency: Must be a resident of Delaware

Mental Competency: You cannot register to vote if you have been adjudged mentally incompetent.

Felony Convictions: A person convicted of a felony may register and vote if he/she meets the following requirements:

  • Was not convicted of a disqualifying felony as defined in the Delaware Constitution.

  • Has completed his/her sentence.

Call the State Election Commissioner's phone number, (302) 739-4277,  if you have questions about your eligibility.


Obtaining a Voter Registration Form

Online: Delaware online voter registration


By Mail/Email/Fax: Print this form, fill it out, and mail, email or FAX it along with a copy of your ID to the Department's Office for your county. List of acceptable IDs are Delaware Drivers License or State ID Card, or a copy of a current utility bill, bank statement, government check, paycheck or other government document that shows the name and address of the voter


By Phone: Call the Department's Office for your county and ask them to mail you an application


In Person: You can register to vote at certain government offices. Click here for more information about the locations you can register to vote. 


Note: Delaware has passed a bill that will implement automatic voter registration. This will not be taking effect until after the 2022 Midterm elections, however when it does you will be able to register to vote when applying for your driver’s license.

If you don’t have a fixed address: You may register by completing the proper registration form. If registering in-person you must provide two pieces of identification containing your name. Additionally, one of the pieces must include the address that you listed on the application. The address can be a shelter, agency or another location where you receive your mail.


UPDATING VOTER RECORD: You may update your voting record a few different ways:

By Mail: Print this form, fill it out, and then either mail, email, or fax it along with a copy of your ID. 

At Certain Government Offices: At any of the Department Offices, any Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) location, at State Service Centers, at the Department of Labor, at any WIC Program offices, at Armed Force Recruitment Offices, at some Social Security Offices, at the State Election Commissioner’s Office, or at any institutions of higher education when you register for classes.


Verifying Your Voter Registration Status

Online: Verify your registration status

Phone: Contact your County's Department of Elections for verification


Absentee Ballot Qualifications

Who can vote absentee:

In order to vote absentee you must be a person who:

- Is registered to vote;

- Fills out and signs an absentee affidavit;

- Cannot vote on Election Day because of the reason marked on the affidavit.


Obtaining an Absentee Ballot

Online: Use Delaware's online system to complete a form


In person: Get one at the Department of Elections for your county.


By mail: Print and complete the Absentee Ballot Application. Then send it to your county election office.


Military and overseas voting: Guidelines and procedures for Military and Overseas absentee voters.


Submitting an Absentee Ballot

In person: If you are registered, you can go to the Department's office in your county: Between 8:30 a.m. and 4 p.m. on normal business days; or Before 12 Noon the day before the election; During extended hours as posted on the Department's office in your county's Web Site.  You must show proof of identity and address. You can also return your voted ballot to Department's office in your county


By Mail: You can mail it to the Department's office in your county



Polls are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. for general, special and primary elections.


You do not have to show ID to vote but poll workers will ask you to show proof of identity. If you do not show ID, you must fill out a form before you can vote. Showing ID makes checking you in faster and reduces mistakes.

Accepted IDs include:

IDs may include: Delaware Drivers License or State ID, U. S. Passport, Signed Polling Place or Social Security Card, Signed vehicle registration, Signed credit card with photo, or A similar document that identifies the person by photo or signature.


Additional Information

Verifying Registration: verify your registration status


Deciding how to vote:


Polling Place: Delaware polling place finder


Special needs voting


Issues with voting: Click on this link


Verifying provisional ballot status: Delaware provisional ballot status verification

Verifying absentee ballot status: Delaware absentee ballot status verification

Your Elected Officials

Joe Biden
Kamala Harris
Vice President
Tom Carper
U.S. Senate
District Senior Seat
Chris Coons
U.S. Senate
District Junior Seat
Lisa Blunt Rochester
U.S. House
District At-Large
John Carney
Bethany Hall-Long
Lieutenant Governor
Richard Collins
State House
District 41
Tim Dukes
State House
District 40
Valerie Glitner
State House
District 37
Danny Short
State House
District 39
Jesse Vanderwende
State House
District 35
Brian Pettyjohn
State Senate
District 19
Bryant Richardson
State Senate
District 21
Kathleen Jennings
Attorney General
Jeffrey Bullock
Secretary of State
Lydia York
Auditor of Accounts
Kathy Revel
Director of Division of Revenue
Trinidad Navarro
Insurance Commissioner
Mark Holodick
Secretary of Education
Richard Geisenberger
Secretary of Finance
Colleen Davis
Shawn Brittingham
State Board of Education
Candice Fifer
State Board of Education
Provey Powell
State Board of Education
Wali Rushdan
State Board of Education
Deborah Stevens
State Board of Education
Megan Szabo
State Board of Education